Start: 03-31-2017
End: 04-01-2017

The ECE Department of SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University), Vadapalani organized Third national conference on REACT’17 -Research in Electronics Engineering and Communication Techniques. REACT is the forum in which the students and research scholars present their papers on their current research. The grand inauguration ceremony began with the promo video of the REACT’17. Dr.C.Gomathy,  Head of the department, ECE gave the welcome address. She also extended her warm welcome to the honourable chief guest, Dr.V.Jagdeesh Kumar, Professor, Electrical Engineering Department, IIT Madras , Dean (Academics) and Guest of Honour, Mrs. Nigar Shaji, Scientist ‘G’ and Project Director, Adithya L1, ISRO Bengaluru.

The Conference report was presented by Mrs.A.Shirly Edward, Coordinator for REACT’ 17. She briefed about the previous editions of the conference. Dr.K.Duraivelu, Dean (E&T) in his presidential address, enlightened the students on the two new upcoming technologies, the Neuro link that will integrate with a computer using brain electrodes where we can upload and download our thoughts. Smart Brain is the other technology that will act as an artificial intelligence. He congratulated ECE department for its success in academics and co-curricular activities and he wished REACT’17 a grand success.

Professor Dr Jagdeesh Kumar gave the inaugural address of the event. He stressed that “In research, Starting is always difficult”. He advised the students not to fear about failure, but by working hard to attain success. He concluded by saying that to be successful in research we must be a fighter and we must possess a fighting spirit. He advised the students to never give up their passion. 

Mrs. Nigar Shaji, ISRO project director of Adithya L1 took us on a journey into the launch of a satellite. She started by talking about how they design the components of the satellite based on the requirements given by the government. Then she explained how the space is different from land. She then elaborated about the various types of antennas that are used in satellites. She narrated about the Adithya L1 project that she is heading currently.
The vote of thanks was given by Mrs.D.Vaishali, Assistant Professor of ECE department.
For this conference, we received nearly 190 papers from participants from various streams, out of which we selected 75 papers for oral presentation. After the inauguration a keynote speech was given by Dr. V. Jagadeesh Kumar in the topic ‘Is Innovation Difficult’.

The oral presentation papers are segregated into four broad areas namely: VLSI and Embedded Systems,Sensors and Instrumentation , Signal and Image Processing and Wireless Communication and Networking. 

The sessions are chaired by Dr. K. Senthamilselvan, Professor, Dept. of ECE, Dhanalakshmi College of Engineering, Dr.K.Suresh Kumar, Associate professor, Dept. of EEE, Velammal College of Engineering, Dr.N.R.Shankar, Professor, Department of ECE, AMS college of Engineering and Dr. Thilagam, Professor, Department of ECE, Velammal College of Engineering. The selected papers will be published after review in International Journal of Control Theory and Applications, a Scopus-indexed journal.