ISTE – Faculty and Students Chapter Inaugurated at SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University), Vadapalani Campus, Chennai

The Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE) is the leading National Professional non-profit making Society for the Technical Education System in our country with the motto of Career Development of Teachers and Personality Development of Students and overall development of our Technical Education System.   At present, ISTE has a very large and an effective membership base consisting of more than 1,02,985 Life Members, 5,54,094 Student Members,  2410 Institutional Members (including IITs, IISc.., NITs and other leading technical institutions), 1214 Faculty Chapters and 1322 Students’ Chapters and 17 Sections throughout the country.

Indian Society for Technical Education, ISTE - Faculty and Students Chapters were inaugurated on                       24th February 2016 at SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University), Vadapalani campus, Chennai. The chapters were established with 10 existing faculty members, 24 new faculty members and 268 student members.

The following office bearers for the chapter were elected and introduced during the function.

Chairman : Dr. K. Duraivelu, Professor & Dean (E&T), SRM Universtiy, Vadapalani Campus

Secretary : Dr. S. Karthikeyan, Professor & HoD – Mechanical Engineering

Faculty coordinator : Mr. B. Winston Sandeep Kumar, Asst. Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Students secretary : Mr. K. Anoop, B.Tech: Mech – IV year

Joint secretary (1) : N. Prithviraj Patil, B.Tech: ECE – II year

Joint secretary (2) : V. Soumya, B.Tech: CSE – II year 

Dr. K. Duraivelu, Dean (E&T), SRM Universtiy, Vadapalani Campus, Chennai & Chairman for ISTE – Faculty and Students chapter delivered the welcome address. The Chapter was inaugurated by Dr. P. Ramachandran, Treasurer, ISTE – Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry. In his inaugural address, he gave the insights about various activities done by ISTE for the benefits of students and faculty members in the field of technical education.

Shri. S. Ramasubbu, Chief General Manager (Electrical), Chennai Metro Rail Limited, also witnessed the inaugural function as the chief guest and delivered the special address. He explained about Industry – Academia interaction. He distributed the membership certificates to the faculty and student members.

Dr. C. Muthamizhchelvan, Director(E&T), Faculty of Engineering & Technology, SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University) delivered the presidential address. He highlighted the importance of bringing in members for ISTE from industrial sectors which will create opportunities for students and faculty members to understand the technologies prevailing there.

After the inaugural ceremony, a technical talk on the topic “Disaster Management” was delivered by Professor Dr.A.Prabakaran . Vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. S. Karthikeyan, HOD, Mechanical Engineering & Secretary, ISTE – Faculty and Students chapter, SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University), Vadapalani, Chennai.